Golf Course View

The Bert Yates Trophy


This trophy is open to the league winners from each of the Junior leagues in the BB&O and therefore takes place at the end of the season. The trophy was presented by Bert Yates (Calcot Park Golf Club) and designed by WFJ Cromwell (Calcot Park Golf Club) and has been played for since 1978.

The 2017 competition was held at Reading G.C. and the league representitives were Calcot Park. Beadlow Manor (Vale League) were the winners, with Calcot finishing second.

Venue: The agreed leagues responsible and selected venues until 2020 are as the table below: -
2015 Vale Buckingham G.C. 27-Oct-15
2016 Chiltern Beaconsfield G.C. 28-Oct-16
2017 Thames Valley Reading G.C.  26-Oct-17
2018 Vale  
2019 Chiltern  
2020 Thames Valley  

Format: 18 hole Stableford (full handicap). Each team shall consist of 6 players. Games will be played as 3-balls. The five best scores from each team to count with the sixth score counting in the event of a tie. Handicap certificates are required.

Match Date: The match date and start time is determined by the host league but it will generally be held in the October half term.

Start Time: The match start time is determined by the host league.

Players: Each Club is requested to advise the Thames Valley Junior Golf League Organisers the names and handicaps of their players, no later than 1 week before the date of the event. This enables the Organisers to prepare running order and scorecards.

Catering: A meal is provided to all players and helpers.

Prizes: Winning Team is awarded The Bert Yates Trophy and individual medals sponsored by the BB&O.